Return to Headlines

North Dakota Juried Student Art Show Awards Announced

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                                

April 15, 2019

North Dakota Juried Student Art Show Awards Announced

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – The Taube Museum of Art has announced the 2018-2019  winners of the North Dakota Juried Student Art Show.

Each spring, students across North Dakota submit art pieces to be juried at the museum. This year, 676 entries were submitted.

Jurors selected three pieces for the Governor’s Award, four for the State of the Arts Award, sponsored by Senator Kevin Cramer, four for the Northern Visions Award, sponsored by Senator John Hoeven, and five for the Congressional Art Award, sponsored by Representative Kelly Armstrong.

Lizard by Grant Hoffarth (South Middle School) was selected for the Governor’s Award, A Stroll in the Park by Samantha Martens (Red River High School) received a Congressional Art Award, and Hydrant by Erika Tinjum (Grand Forks Central High School) was selected as a Start of the Arts award winner. Marten’s artwork will hang in the Washington, D.C. Corridor, while Hoffarth and Tinjum’s pieces will be displayed in Bismarck.

An additional 100 entries were selected as award winners in a variety of categories and will become a traveling exhibit for the following year.

Mekenna Erickson’s (Grand Forks Central High School) piece Summer Time Camp was selected as a Taube Museum of Art award winner.

People’s Choice Award winners include Orange in the New Black by Taylor Schuman (Grand Forks Central High School), Lion Zentangle by Lukas Heydt (Elroy Schroeder Middle School), Radial Bug by Braden Huseby (South Middle School), and Untitled by Avery Whiteside (Elroy Schroeder Middle School).

The following students were named Traveling Award winners in grades 9-12:

  • Hala Aboufakher, Red River High School, Calmness of the Plains
  • Camlyn Bakke, Grand Forks Central High School, Woodland Seafood
  • Keely Davidson, Grand Forks Central High School, Structures Within
  • Yassmine El-Rewini, Red River High School, Evening Escapades
  • Mekenna Erickson, Grand Forks Central High School, This is the Bahamas
  • Amelia Foltz, Grand Forks Central High School, Garden Fresh Vessel
  • Jessica Francois, Grand Forks Central High School, Sugar Plum Baby, King Sign, and One of Life’s Thrills
  • Morgan Haga, Red River High School, La Pâtisserie
  • Alex Hrabchak, Red River High School, Mental Cephalopod
  • Zoie Krump, Red River High School, Berries of Fall
  • Lowell Miller, Grand Forks Central High School, Dreaming Tower
  • Kendra Nordick, Grand Forks Central High School, Reptile in Action
  • Victoria Scheierl, Red River High School, In the Deep Blue

The following students were named Traveling Award winners in grades 7-8:

  • Marie Derenne, Valley Middle School, A Day at the Lake
  • Allie Foltz, Valley Middle School, Birds of a Feather
  • Quinn Olson, Valley Middle School, Untitled
  • Mackenzie Spoor, Valley Middle School, Tide Runs Deep
  • Natalia Tchomakhidze, South Middle School, Self-Portrait and Parrot

Bryn Larson (Elroy Schroeder Middle School) was named a Traveling Award winner in grades K-6.

Instructors are Nicole Arnold (Red River High School), Cassie Baasch (South Middle School), Nancy Greenwood (Grand Forks Central High School), Kati Larson (Grand Forks Central High School), Dr. Betsy Thaden (Red River High School), Bryan Walls (Elroy Schroeder Middle School), and Jillian Westrum (Valley Middle School).

The competition is sponsored by the Lillian and Coleman Taube Museum of Art in Minot.