Return to Headlines

Two Career and Technical Education Programs Receive State Awards

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                                

August 15, 2019

Two Career and Technical Education Programs Receive State Awards

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Two programs in Grand Forks Public Schools’ Career and Technical Education (CTE) program have been awarded 2019 Director’s Awards of Excellence by the North Dakota Department of CTE.

The Technology Education program (instructors Zach Buchhop, Nate Carlson, Jerome Gunderson, Jay Johnson, Andrew Kennedy, Ryan Moldenhauer, Grant Ness, Joseph Ostgarden, Roger Quinn, Aaron Schauer, Matt Solberg, John Stempinski, and Paul Strande) was selected for establishing strong industry partner support to accelerate expansion and growth of the Project Lead the Way (PLTW) program. They were also recognized for each middle school in Grand Forks being recognized as a PLTW Distinguished School during the 2018-2019 school year, and participating in VEX Robotics and the Technology Student Association’s Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics, and Science (TEAMS) competitions with multiple awards and recognition through the strong engagement and instruction by instructors.

The Educational Equity and Nontraditional Careers program (instructors Katie Chandler, Rebecca Duncan, Jerome Gunderson, Joyce Larson, Kevin Phelps, and Paul Zettler), which includes the career units, 8th grade career fairs, Northern Valley Career Expo, career forums, job shadowing, internships, and Girls Who Code, was recognized for fostering a strong commitment to the education of a large population of nontraditional and English Language (EL) students in the field of technology and engineering. They were also recognized for developing the Girls Who Code clubs and Girls Go CyberStart program, which were founded to help girls in grades 6-12 practice coding in an environment free of stereotypes.

“Grand Forks is consistently viewed as a leader and innovator within Career and Technical Education, and the recognition of these Director’s Awards of Excellence is a testament to the quality of CTE programs, staff, and opportunities available to our students,” said Eric Ripley, Executive Director of Career and Technical Education.

The awards were presented at the 49th annual North Dakota Department of CTE Professional Development Conference, held August 5-7 in Bismarck.