Return to Headlines

Central, Red River Students Candidates for Presidential Scholars Program

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                                

February 6, 2020

Central, Red River Students Candidates for Presidential Scholars Program

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Seven Grand Forks Central seniors and two Red River High School seniors have been selected as candidates for the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

Oliver Dalmi (Grand Forks Central), Daniel Hettich (Grand Forks Central), Aiden Krogh (Red River), William Lawson-Body (Grand Forks Central), Jack Peterson (Grand Forks Central), Joseph Votava (Red River), Mikayla Weiss (Grand Forks Central), Oliver Wolfe (Grand Forks Central), and Gary Wu (Grand Forks Central) have been invited to apply for the Presidential Scholar program.

Wu had also been previously selected as a state nominee for the U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education (CTE) Program along with Rachel Craig (technology and engineering education), Aidan Fire (marketing education), and Katherine Liberman (business education).

Established in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program recognizes and honors distinguished graduating seniors across the nation. In 1979, the Program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was extended again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. 

The candidates will now complete a nine-page application about jobs they have held, special talents they have, and community activities in which they have been involved in. They will also write short essays describing family characteristics, creative work, significant community contributions, and how they have responded to a challenge or mistake.

Approximately 800 students nationwide will be selected as semifinalists, and up to 161 students will be chosen as Presidential Scholars, including at least two North Dakotans.

The Presidential Scholars will be invited to Washington, D.C., in June to receive the Presidential Scholars medallion at a recognition ceremony and participate in various activities and events held in their honor.