Return to Headlines

Six Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                                

February 12, 2020

Six Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Six seniors have been named 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program finalists.

Oliver Dalmi (Grand Forks Central High School), Daniel Hettich (Grand Forks Central High School), Aiden Krogh (Red River High School), Alexander Tjellesen (Red River High School), Joseph Votava (Red River High School), and Mikayla Weiss (Grand Forks Central High School) are six of approximately 15,000 finalists in the 65th annual scholarship program.

About 1.5 million high school juniors in more than 21,000 high schools nationwide entered the program by completing the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The finalists in each state are proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

Scholarship winners will be selected from the group of finalists, and approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million will be announced in the spring of 2020.

National Merit Scholars are selected by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Established in 1955, the organization’s mission is to recognize and honor academically talented students in the United States.