Return to Headlines

Johnson Named North Dakota History Teacher of the Year

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                               

August 5, 2020

Johnson Named North Dakota History Teacher of the Year

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Lisa Johnson, history teacher at Red River High School, has been selected as the North Dakota History Teacher of the Year.

The National History Teacher of the Year is chosen from outstanding history teachers in each state, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and Department of Defense schools. The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.

A panel of teachers, administrators, and scholars from North Dakota selected Johnson for her achievements in American history education.

As an award recipient, Johnson will receive a $1,000 award, certificate of recognition, archive of books and historical resources, an invitation to attend a 2021 Gilder Lehrman Teaching Seminar, and recognition at a future event.

“Lisa does a great job engaging students in the study of United States History by connecting the past with contemporary issues and events,” said Dr. Kris Arason, principal at Red River High School. “Students in her class are challenged to think critically about how history has influenced the world we live in today. Red River High School is extremely proud of Lisa for receiving this well-deserved award.”

As a state-level award recipient, Johnson is also one of 53 finalists for the $10,000 National History Teacher of the Year Award. Her award submission will now be reviewed by a national panel of judges. Ten finalists will be announced in late summer and the winner of the national competition will be announced in early fall.

Johnson is entering her 18th year teaching at Grand Forks Public Schools. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of North Dakota.

Johnson has served as the regional coordinator for National History Day in North Dakota from 2003-2005.