Return to Headlines

Seven Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                               

September 14, 2020                                         

Seven Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Seven seniors have been named 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

Dennis Du (Grand Forks Central High School), Nabeel Hossain (Red River High School), Stella Niemeier (Grand Forks Central High School), Collin Polasky (Red River High School), Eliot Schumacher (Red River High School), Adam Swartz (Grand Forks Central High School), and Theodore Tchomakhidze (Red River High School) are seven of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 66th annual scholarship program.

Over 1.5 million high school juniors in approximately 21,000 high schools nationwide entered the program by completing the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The semifinalists in each state are proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

Approximately 15,000 of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing and will be notified in February of the designation. Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2021. Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. Approximately 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be given, in addition to about 4,100 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

National Merit Scholars are selected by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Established in 1955, the organization’s mission is to recognize and honor academically talented students in the United States.