Return to Headlines

Jonasson Named Regional Principal of the Year

News Release                                                     

For Immediate Release                                                                   

December 15, 2020

Jonasson Named Regional Principal of the Year

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Angie Jonasson, principal at Lake Agassiz Elementary School, has been named the North Dakota Association of Elementary School Principals (NDAESP) Region 4 Principal of the Year.

The award is given to principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and employees in their learning communities.

The North Dakota Elementary School Regional Principal award winners will be recognized at the NDAESP award ceremony in early 2021. One regional principal will be selected to represent North Dakota at the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) National Distinguished Principal of the Year award ceremony in Washington, D.C. on October 7-8, 2021.

“Principals nominate peers in their field who are demonstrating a high level of integrity doing the right work each and every day for students. I couldn't be happier for Angie on this well-deserved honor,” said Shari Bilden, NDAESP awards chair.

Jonasson has been employed with Grand Forks Public Schools for 23 years, first as a teacher, mentor, and now as an elementary school administrator.

“Angie Jonasson is an exemplary leader when it comes to curriculum, instruction, and social-emotional learning,” said Dr. Terry Brenner, superintendent of schools. “She has been a school system-wide leader on Multi-Tiered Systems of Support relating to student mental health as she has a wide array of tools in her toolkit to work with students regardless of where they are at on the continuum. Her ability to develop a school culture of common purpose is known across the district.”

“I'm proud of being a part of this school system for so long and the opportunity to grow through different roles offered,” said Jonasson.

The regional award also qualifies Jonasson to apply for the NAESP National Distinguished Principal of the Year award. The National Distinguished Principal program honors outstanding elementary and middle-level principals who ensure students acquire a sound foundation for lifelong learning and achievement.

The NAESP National Distinguished Principal of the Year award program was established in 1984 to recognize pre-Kindergarten through 8th grade public school principals from all across the country, as well as principals in U.S. private schools and those from the U.S. Departments of Defense Office of Educational Activity and the United States Department of State Office in Overseas Schools.