Return to Headlines

Red River Claims State DECA Championship

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                               

April 8, 2021

Red River Claims State DECA Championship

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Red River High School pulled off a successful run at the State DECA Conference, capturing 16 first-place, 14 second-place, and three third-place finishes. The school also captured the team state championship.

The conference was held March 14-16 in Bismarck.

DECA is a co-curricular organization that provides high school students with the opportunity to develop leadership skills and prepare for future career opportunities. Students must be enrolled in a marketing class to be a member of DECA.

"Our students did an excellent job representing the city of Grand Forks, Red River High School, their parents, and themselves. They should be very proud of their efforts," said Brent Polum, a DECA advisor at Red River High School.

All place winners have qualified for the virtual DECA International Career Development Conference conference held in late April.

First place

  • Hayden Adair – integrated marketing campaign – event
  • Nana Adjekum and Shri Patel – school-based enterprise
  • Campbell Dorsey and Caitlin Mackenzie – international business plan
  • Jordyn Knott – independent business plan
  • Camden Larsen – financial consulting; personal financial literacy
  • Brady Meland – hospitality and tourism professional selling
  • Matthew Moe and Clarkson Sande – buying and merchandising; integrated marketing campaign – product
  • Ally Nelson, Grace Schindler, and Lauren Tibert – hospitality and tourism operations research
  • Mark Raymond - accounting
  • Katie Swartz – principles of business management
  • Natalia Tchomakhidze – finance operations research
  • Theodore Tchomakhidze – entrepreneurship; selling; and innovation

Second place

  • Nana Adjekum – apparel and accessories marketing series
  • Derek Chaves – franchise business plan
  • Campbell Dorsey and Caitlin Mackenzie – travel and tourism team decision making
  • Avery Dusterhoft and Amanda Marsh – entrepreneurship team decision making; start-up business plan
  • Matthew Moe and Clarkson Sande – hospitality and tourism operations research
  • Ryan Nordhagen – buying and merchandising operations research
  • Justice Reilly – business services marketing series
  • Grace Schindler – principles of business management
  • Sudiksha Singhal – entrepreneurship; entrepreneurship independent business plan
  • Emma Storstad – innovation; marketing communication series
  • Katie Swartz – integrated marketing plan - service

Third place

  • Marissa Esquivel – hotel and lodging management series
  • Shri Patel – business services marketing series
  • Lauren Tibert – principles of finance