Return to Headlines

North Dakota Juried Student Art Show Awards Announced

News Release                                                  

For Immediate Release                                                               

April 16, 2021

North Dakota Juried Student Art Show Awards Announced

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – The Taube Museum of Art has announced the 2021-2022 winners of the North Dakota Juried Student Art Show.

Each spring, students across North Dakota submit art pieces to be juried at the museum. This year, 508 entries were submitted.

Jurors selected three pieces for the Governor’s Award, four for the State of the Arts Award, sponsored by Senator Kevin Cramer, four for the Northern Visions Award, sponsored by Senator John Hoeven, and five for the Congressional Art Award, sponsored by Representative Kelly Armstrong.

Grand Forks Public Schools was the only district this year to have entries awarded in each of the above categories.

Selected as a Governor’s Award winner was Irene Zeng (Grand Forks Central High School) for Small Bits.

Vivid Growth by Zeng and The Baller by Alex Schill (Grand Forks Central High School) were selected to receive Congressional Art Awards. Gavin Pihlgren’s (Grand Forks Central High School) Silver Set was selected as Northern Visions winner.

Entries by three students were selected as State of the Arts Award winners: Grandma’s Attic by Erika Tinjum (Grand Forks Central High School), Nocturn by Lowell Miller (Grand Forks Central High School), and an untitled piece by Nora Hale (Elroy Schroeder Middle School).

An additional 100 selections were selected as award winners in a variety of categories and will become a traveling exhibit for the following year.

Leviathan by Miller and Growth by Violet Spartz (Valley Middle School) were selected as Taube Museum of Art award winners.

Maureen Beier (Grand Forks Central High School) received a People’s Choice Award for Cold Coffee Summer, while Valley Middle School students Michelle Goulet (Fresh Powder) and Brooke Beckstead (Running Free) also received awards.

The following students were named Traveling Award winners in grades 9-12:

  • Gabe Birchler, Red River High School, George
  • Jessica Boone, Grand Forks Central High School, A Twisted Dream
  • Kenzie Carriere, Grand Forks Central High School, Reimagined
  • Caleb Cearley, Grand Forks Central High School, Just Bones and Color
  • Kelsey Helmbrecht, Grand Forks Central High School, Three Transparencies
  • Miller, Wrinkled
  • Kinsey Martin, Grand Forks Central High School, Happy Accidents
  • Jocelyn Sayre, Red River High School, Coyote Strange and Extended Reach in a Small World
  • Schill, A Walk in the Park
  • Katie Swartz, Red River High School, Safe at Home
  • Natalia Tchomakhidze, Red River High School, Growth and Lost Horizon

The following students were named Traveling Award winners in grades 7-8:

  • Goulet, Citrus
  • Olivia Syverson, Valley Middle School, Untitled
  • Nikita Usatii, Elroy Schroeder Middle School, Untitled

Instructors are Nancy Greenwood (Grand Forks Central High School), Kati Larson (Grand Forks Central High School), Dr. Betsy Thaden (Red River High School), Bryan Walls (Elroy Schroeder Middle School), and Jillian Westrum (Valley Middle School).

The competition is sponsored by the Lillian and Coleman Taube Museum of Art in Minot.