Return to Headlines

Eight Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

News Release        

For Immediate Release

September 16, 2021

Eight Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Eight seniors have been named 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

Elizabeth Corcoran (Red River High School), Sarah Hong (Red River High School), Dylan Kiley (Grand Forks Central High School), Carson Mathre (Red River High School), Grace Nelson (Grand Forks Central High School), Owen Reilly (Red River High School), Carter Schmisek (Grand Forks Central High School), and Boyuan Zhang (Grand Forks Central High School) are eight of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 67th annual scholarship program.

Over 1.5 million high school juniors in approximately 21,000 high schools nationwide entered the program by completing the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The semifinalists in each state are proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

Approximately 15,000 of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing and will be notified in February of the designation. Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2022. Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. Approximately 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be given, in addition to about 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

National Merit Scholars are selected by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Established in 1955, the organization’s mission is to recognize and honor academically talented students in the United States.