Return to Headlines

Knudsen, Stangl Named Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

News Release                                                              

For Immediate Release

April 27, 2022

Knudsen, Stangl Named Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Angelica Knudsen (Red River High School) and Madeline Stangl (Grand Forks Central High School) have been named two of nine North Dakota high school seniors selected as semifinalists for the U.S. Presidential Scholar honors.

Stangl is a semifinalist for U.S. Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education (CTE).

“Angelica and Madeline shine a spotlight on themselves, the support of their families, and the abundance of academic and student leadership opportunities provided by Grand Forks Public Schools,” said Superintendent Dr. Terry Brenner. I, along with my colleagues, celebrate Angelica and Madeline on their accomplishments.”

“Madeline embodies the outstanding student leaders we have within CTE,” said Eric Ripley, executive director of CTE and Technology. “In addition to serving as a local and state FBLA officer, Madeline has demonstrated outstanding success in her nominated CTE program area of Business Education. To be selected as a national semifinalist in the CTE category is well-deserved recognition for Madeline's accomplishments, but also credit to the high-quality CTE students and staff we are fortunate to have within Grand Forks Public Schools.”

The other finalists are Chance Bowlinger (Bismarck), Quoc Bui (Fargo), Alyssa Haider (Dickinson), Amy Hong (Fargo), Yaoyi Ma (Fargo), Lukas McEachern-Mavity (Dickinson), and Samuel Ruona (West Fargo).

The nine students were selected from a group of 76 North Dakota Presidential Scholar candidates.

Each year, up to 161 students, including two from North Dakota, are named Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

Established in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program recognizes and honors distinguished graduating seniors across the nation. In 1979, the Program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was extended again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.