Return to Headlines

Nine Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

News Release        

For Immediate Release

September 16, 2022

Nine Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

GRAND FORKS, N.D. – Nine seniors have been named 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

Noura Elhamadany (Red River), Nauman Farid (Red River), Brett Feller (Red River), Clara Green (Grand Forks Central), Alishba Khan (Red River), Emily Nelson (Red River), Quinn Roehl (Grand Forks Central), Megan Schill (Grand Forks Central), and Sudiksha Singhal (Red River) are nine of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 68th annual scholarship program.

High school juniors entered the program by completing the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The semifinalists in each state are proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. Each of the semifinalists must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed or recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn a SAT® or ACT® score that confirms the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Approximately 15,000 of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing and will be notified in February of the designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the group of finalists and will be selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2023. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. Approximately 950 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be given, in addition to approximately 3,800 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

National Merit Scholars are selected by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Established in 1955, the organization’s mission is to recognize and honor academically talented students in the United States.